Complicated Faith?

Posted: April 8, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I commented on Diane River’s post The Critical Importance of Sunsets, Easter Bonnets, and Pie. I said, “My view on faith was formed through my dad.” Her response:  “Just reading your screen name and your comment, it sounds like your view on faith might be complicated. I hope it is sustaining you through what must be a tough time. Thanks for weighing in.”

Most of my life, my concept of faith was defined by my dad. He was a pillar in my life. When that pillar fell and my world was shattered, my life exploded and I made some VERY poor choices. Choices that hurt those I loved the most. It was beyond damaging.

Then, I discovered a faith that was not based on my earthly father. I discovered the redemption and the power of unconditional love from a holy Daddy.

And that’s why celebrating Easter today is so meaningful to me.

So yes, Diane, my view on faith was complicated. BUT it not longer is–it is redeeming!

Comments
  1. dianerivers says:

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE this! I’m so glad you “pinged” back. This means so much to me on Easter. God – our holy Daddy, as you call Him – can redeem anything and everything. He is good beyond words. I am so glad you have found this to be true and have re-validated it for me. You have a full-on platform for proclaiming this truth – I hope you continue this blog. I want to see what comes next. Thanks! And Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

